Saturday, 28 November 2009

Champions Night

2009 Winner

The Black Bitch pub was packed with Clarionistas on Friday celebrating the best of cycling and fellowship in 2009. The evening began with a welcome from club President, Tobias Bauer who thanked everyone who had helped out and volunteered through out the year. Special mentions of thanks were made to:

Jimmy Harris who has donated a number of trophies from the West of Scotland Clarion and his advice and time has been invaluable in training up time keepers for the TT series.

Grant's work on last February's RadTour and the spectacular spread of food at the refuelling stop.

Out going president, Bill Young's, commitment to the club, being a stalwart of the Saturday runs, organising the club and open hill climbs, last winter's 'Hangar of anger' and coordinating two kit orders.

Graham for setting up the TT series and managing it effectively through out the year, even after the arrival of little Alexander.

Neil Greer for setting up and championing the East Calder Saturday run

The evening continued with West Lothian's ONLY cycling quiz with our very own quiz master, Matt Muir, setting 30 very challenging questions. The competition was narrowly won by the team of Sadiq, Neil and Graham. They each received a cycling biography and a book about the history of the Clarion.

After a bite the awards ceremony began, with the following members presented with trophies, medals or certificates:

Men's TT champion: Ross Dewar
Women's TT champion: Julie Domiguez
Junior TT champion: Blair Campbell
Best All Rounder Champion: Bob Simpson
Tour of the Trossachs Trophy: Matthew Ball
Women's Hill climb champion: Denise Schofield
Men's Hill Climb champion: Graham Gillooly
Freewheel Champion: Tom Beattie
Sea to Sky record breakers: Matthew Ball, Steve McCaw, Craig Marshall
Ride of the year: Night Time Ride to Berwick upon Tweed
10, 25, 50 Club TT records: Matthew Ball

A big thank you goes to everybody who donated prizes for the raffle and bought tickets. It would be an understatement to say that sadiq was happy with the prizes he won, our first President and honorary member did very well for himself, celebrating each lucky draw as if scoring a winning cup final goal!

Many thanks to everyone who came along and enjoyed the evening,especially Matt Muir for planning the Quiz and Tobias for sorting out the trophy engraving and cleaning but a very special thank you goes to Bob Simpson who organised the night and then ran errands to make sure we had everything we needed.

No comments: