Sunday, 25 March 2012

Lang Whang 30 mile Hilly TT Results

Many thanks to all who took part and made the event a success, full results below.

Pos Name Club Cat Time
1 Iain grant Dooleys RT V 1:07:41
2 Silas Goldsworthy Sandy Wallace Cycles S 1:08:51
3 Eddie Addis Equipe Velo Ecosse S 1:08:56
4 Jamie Kennedy Glasgow Couriers V 1:09:15
5 Steve Nutley Sandy Wallace Cycles V 1:10:18
6 James McPake GJS Racing S 1:10:23
7 Mark Ewing West Lothian Clarion V 1:10:47
8 Callum Wilkinson The S 1:12:17
9 Stephen Couper Glasgow United S 1:12:46
10 Ken Russell V 1:12:55
11 Matthew Ball West Lothian Clarion V 1:13:12
12 Craig Dale The S 1:14:13
13 Paul McInally Rock & Road Cycles S 1:14:27
14 Andrew Scott Musselburgh Roads CC S 1:14:32
15 Andrew Wilson Stirling BC S 1:14:56
16 Kenny Kentley Equipe Velo Ecosse V 1:15:14
17 Jeremy Greengrass Vortex V 1:15:52
18 Paul Gareze Lomond Roads CC S 1:16:00
19 Lee Whitelaw Edinburgh RC S 1:16:23
20 Tim Caine Berwick Wheelers V 1:17:10
21 Douglas Kirkham Musselburgh Roads CC V 1:17:23
22 Jonny May Edinburgh RC V 1:17:24
23 Andrew Matheson Musselburgh Roads CC V 1:17:48
24 Derek Timmins Musselburgh Roads CC S 1:18:06
25 David Millar Glasgow Couriers V 1:18:27
26 John Woodrow Sandy Wallace Cycles S 1:18:42
27 Jon Clarke Glasgow Wheelers S 1:18:49
28 Alex Hilliam Edinburgh RC S 1:19:41
29 Craig Gilmour Falkirk BC S 1:21:43
30 Iain Elliot West Lothian Clarion S 1:21:57
31 Stephen David Stirling BC V 1:21:58
32 Anda-Jay Burgess Sandy Wallace Cycles F 1:22:19
33 Graeme Stewart Ronde Bicycle Outfitters S 1:22:44
34 David Hamill Pedal Power RT S 1:23:29
35 Colin Humphries Falkirk BC S 1:23:30
36 Tom ward Edinburgh RC S 1:23:41
37 James Davidson Pedal Power RT S 1:24:01
38 Iain taylor Dunfermline CC V 1:24:25
39 Richard Hooper Edinburgh RC S 1:24:29
40 Greig Petrie Dunfermline CC S 1:24:35
41 Colin Russell Edinburgh RC V 1:25:15
42 Neil Brown Pedal Power RT S 1:26:32
43 John McComisky Pedal Power RT V 1:27:13
44 Allan McCrimmon Falkirk BC V 1:27:28
45 Timothy May Peebles CC V 1:27:56
46 Louise Haston City of Edinburgh F 1:29:47
47 Teri Wishart The F 1:30:49
48 Gordon Mckenzie West Lothian Clarion S 1:31:18
49 Katherine Arthur Stirling BC F 1:31:40
50 Iain McLeod Denny Road Club V 1:33:04
51 Jennifer Taylor West Lothian Clarion F 1:37:43
52 Debra Pollard West Lothian Clarion FV 1:42:47

Tuesday, 13 March 2012

Thanks Folks!

A big thank you to everyone who organised, helped out at and rode our RadTour on Sunday. It was a superb event with about 90 participating.

Riders were set off in groups of 10 at three different average speeds (12, 15 and 18mph) to ride round the 100km reliability trial which passes by West Lothian's seven castles. The route tops out on the Lang Whang at over 1000 feet before riders descend to the ultimate cycling cafe at the Greer household.

With full bellies participants then make their way back to Linlithgow via Hopetoun House, Faucheldean and Kingscavil

Monday, 12 March 2012

National Clarion Events for 2012

The 2012 National Clarion events have been announced. Last year saw some very close racing at the Manchester Velodrome and road race at Darley Moor. We also got the opportunity to race against Britain's top riders including Rebecca Romero and Michael Hutchinson

Friday 6th April
Buxton CC Hilly *CTT
Incorporating KH team competition

Sunday 8th April
Stockport Hill Climb *CTT
Nat’ Clarion Hill Climb Championship

Saturday 14th April
Bolton Clarion 10 *CTT
Nat’ Clarion 10 Championship

Sunday 3rd June
Nottingham Clarion 50 *CTT
Nat’ Clarion 50 Championship

Saturday 4th August
Fenland Clarion 25 *CTT
Nat’ Clarion 25 Championships

Saturday 1st Sept’
Nat’ Clarion Road Championships *pre’
Location either Darley Moor or Scale Hall
(pending decision at conference)

Saturday September
Nat’ Clarion Track Championships*pre
Location and date to be fixed

Autumn Ride Out – YHA TBA
Venue to be fixed, with a central location to encourage members to ride out.

Saturday November Nottingham Clarion TBA
Nat’ Clarion Cyclo Cross Champs

*CTT These events must be entered using CTT forms in line with CTT regulations 2 weeks in advance of the race date.
*pre These events must be pre-entered details to follow.

Tuesday, 6 March 2012

Volunteers wanted for Lang Whang TT

Dear Clarion Member

We are looking for volunteers for the Lang Whang Hilly TT on Sunday 25th March.

We still have vacancies for essential volunteer posts

Organiser Julie Dominguez has already done a great deal to get the event up and running and she now needs your support:


Sadiq Mir and Craig Duncan have already volunteered (thanks guys) but we need 4 more
1. Your name here
2. Your name here
3. Your name here
4. Your name here

Sign On
Angus Gallie has already volunteered (thanks) but we need another helper
1. Your name here

We need two volunteers
1. Your name here
2. Your name here

Home bakers and a soup maker
All offers of scran welcomed

Please email Julie on julie.dominguez[AT] to offer your help


New T shirt Order

We will be ordering a new batch of T shirts shortly

Price is £14 including postage and packing

T shirts available:

1. Bathgate Alps type motif
Grey T shirt with dark grey ink, A list of the Bathgate climbs on the back

2. Bathgate Alps Joy Division motif
Black T shirt, white ink. Clarion logo on the back

3. West Lothian Clarion (Yellow)
Yellow T shirt, black type, Clarion logo on the back

4. West Lothian Clarion (Black)
Black T shirt, yellow type, Clarion logo on the back

Please email Matthew Ball on
Stating which T shirt you want, how many and in what sizes

Order and payment must be made by Friday 23rd March