Wednesday, 12 October 2011

Club member of the year shortlist announced

Six members have been shortlisted for the club member of the year, the winner will be announced at the Champions Dinner on Saturday October 22nd

1. David Dourley
Not only is Dave doing the business with the club kit again (with the associated problems that will inevitably occur with sizing, quality etc.), but has also volunteered to organise the club hill climb, and taken part in many of the club activities throughout the year. It could not have been easy balancing his shift work and family commitments with being so active with/for the club.

2. Angus Gallie
Angus has made a massive contribution to the club this year, supportive of his fellow riders, volunteering to marshal and organising our biggest event of the year - the Kingscavil Hill Climb. He sets an example for others to follow. He has also been representing the club on the competitive front too - getting 5th in the World Duathlon Championships for his age group. Supported and helped out at the TT series and Easter Meet, particularly the Sportive.

3.Simon Fagan
Simon has continued to contribute to club life, not only is he a committed coach for the kids club, winning awards along his way, but he also represented the club and Scotland at the school games as a coach. Simon has continued to develop his skills by gaining his trail leader qualification and adding an MTB bolt on to his coaching certificate. He won the first quarterly SC coaching award and helped organise many great events over the year including the BBQ ( He cooks up a mean onion relish worthy of the award itself). Simon also volunteered as the commissaire for the kids grass track races at Easter. As well as coaching he has also raced in the club's hill climb and taken part in numerous sportives.

4. Neil Heyes 
Neil has helped the club in a number of ways this year, volunteering at the Easter meet and organised one of the social rides. At the TDF social he found a great venue, he volunteered at the 10TT series and took part in many of the races, he even represented the club in the TTT championship! Neil also volunteered to get up at 5.00am to represent the club as a marshal at the MSCA 50TT. Neil also took part in the Night Ride again this year - an all round club member

5. Steve McCaw
Steve has been an outstanding racer this year and a superb ambassador for the club and cyclesport. Breaking national indoor and outdoor track records including setting a new outdoor hour record. At the Clarion track champs he broke 5 national records and then went on to dominate the track championships. He has advised club members on how to get into racing through his advice on the forums and has also volunteered as a helper on the club 10TT series.

6. Tom Beattie
Tom has been a stalwart member this year, he has invested an incredible amount of time and enthusiasm into club activities. He stepped in to organise the TT series and helped make it the most successful yet, he set up and ran the very successful Wallace Monument hill climb (even after a night shift!). He has participated in club runs and club racers and has then gone on to enter open events too. He marshalled for the club at the MSCA 50TT. He has encouraged others to take part in club activities and supported both our teams at the TTT champs. Tom has also managed Steve McCaw's hour record attempts, making sure all the logistics are in place so that Steve just has to think about the riding.

No comments: